Home » Scene in the Bend

Scene in the Bend: Cari Middaugh
December 2017

Email: cari.fblifestyles@gmail.com

Email: editor@lifestyles-magazines.com


The Literacy Council of Fort Bend held a Reception and Driveway Dedication ceremony honoring Lucia Street on Wednesday, Oct. 1. Naming rights were generously purchased by Debbie and Chris Patton at the 2017 Reading between the Wines. The evening was underwritten by Gena and Paul Horak and H-E- B. Commissioner James Patterson said a few words for Lucia, who served as the Literacy Council’s Executive Director for 14 years. When Lucia took the position, the Literacy Council was a one classroom center and quickly expanded to the current standalone building now located on Emily Court in Sugar Land. Upon retiring from the Literacy Council, Lucia continued her passion for community service and has not stopped giving back to Fort Bend County.

At the ceremony, Lucia said, “There are so many people who have given of their time, talent and treasure to help the Literacy Council celebrate its 30th anniversary. I’m very grateful and honored to have been included in the celebration.” Lucia and her husband Larry are also Honorary Chairs for the Literacy Council’s 2018 Reading between the Wines to be held on Friday, March 23 at Safari Texas Ranch.

Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-1 Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-1a Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-2 Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-3 Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-4 Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-6 Reception-and-Driveway-Dedication-for-Lucia-Street-7

1) The Street family: Steve Zarvos and Lauren Street Zarvos, Larry and Lucia Street, with Liz and Lyle Street

2) Lucia’s Sugar Creek Book Club group (together for 40 years): Betty Feese, Harriett Morrow, Barbara Montgomery, Lucia Street, Jo Nell Ozment, Libby Buell, Zooks Campbell, Marilyn Panozzo and Barbara Van Vliet

3) Larry and Lucia Street

4) Dr. Rebecca Deurlein and Jeff Tallas

5) Dr. Angela Pfeiffer with Lucia Street

6) Donna Hughes, Arlene Rolsen, Debbie Schwer, Bill Schwer, Nell Ciancarelli and Ann Smith

7) Kelli Metzenthin with past LCFB Executive Directors Lucia Street and Brenda Bowman

8) Kelli Metzenthin, Commissioner James Patterson and Ann Smith

9) Debbie and Chris Patton, sign underwriters; Lucia Street and Kelli Metzenthin

10) Nancy Porter, Literacy Council Executive Director Kelli Metzenthin, Kristin Tassin and Sonal Buchar

Photos courtesy of Cari Middaugh



FBEF’s Sugar Shindig

The Fort Bend Education Foundation’s third annual Sugar Shindig held on Oct. 13 at Safari Texas was another sweet success, netting over $26,500 with almost 800 guests in attendance. FBISD staff, volunteers and community members who came out to shimmy and shake had a fabulous time during dinner, the cake auction, and dancing! The Angels of Education Auxiliary’s event was the icing on the cake to a new school year!

FBEFs-Sugar-Shindig1 FBEFs-Sugar-Shindig2 FBEFs-Sugar-Shindig3

1) FBISD Superintendent and event emcee Dr. Charles Dupre with Fort Bend Education Foundation President Stacy Bynes

2) Fort Bend Education Foundation Executive Director Brenna Cosby with the night’s auctioneer, Sheriff Troy Nehls

3) FBEF board members Terri Wang and Kay James with Christy Hill

4) FBEF board member Ron Bailey; Seeju Dupre; FBISD teacher Stephanie Clayton; and FBEF Auxiliary VP, Nappinnai Natarajan

5) Meadows Elementary teachers Christy Hill, Natasha Odom, Chelsea Lundeen, Shelly Leifrig and Carrie Nesmith

6) AFE Principal Jason Soileau and FBISD Teacher of the Year Stephanie Clayton

7) Vernon and Carolyn Madden, namesakes for the Madden Elementary Huskies

8) FBEF board member Lina Sabouni with a Husky cake made by Cakes by Gina

9) FBISD Board of Trustees member KP George (center) with Fred and Samar Dally

10) FBISD President Kristin Tassin and FBISD Board of Trustees member Grayle James

11) FBEF board member Daniel Menendez and wife Jill with Auxiliary President Noreen Covey

Photos courtesy of Mary Favre and Liz Furman



Cowboy Up for Parks Youth Ranch

Cowboy Up 2017, presented by Fred and Mabel Parks Foundation and benefiting Parks Youth Ranch, was held the evening of Saturday, Oct. 6 at the George Ranch Historical Park Arena in Richmond. This charity event featured live music, a BBQ dinner, dessert bar, and live and silent auctions. Along with Honorary Chairs Pat and Richard “Dick” Hogan, approximately 500 local leaders, business owners and community supporters attended the shindig.

Cowboy-Up-for-Parks-Youth-Ranch1 Cowboy-Up-for-Parks-Youth-Ranch2 Cowboy-Up-for-Parks-Youth-Ranch3 Cowboy-Up-for-Parks-Youth-Ranch4 Cowboy-Up-for-Parks-Youth-Ranch5 Cowboy-Up-for-Parks-Youth-Ranch6

1) Event Co-Chairs Robin Alston, Jana Baumann, Yolanda Celestine and Sharon Dimicelli

2) Dick Hogan, Susie and Vernon Beyer and Pat Hogan

3) Angela Parker, PYR Development Director and Shannon Bloesch

4) Shannon Bloesch, Parks Youth Ranch Executive Director, with Pat Summers, 2017 recipient of the Carl Favre True Believer Award

5) Mike Tucker with Event Emcee Jacquie Baly

6) County Judge Bob Hebert and his wife Pat

7) Drs. Scott and Juliet Breeze with Board member Kolbe and Gwen Curtice

8) Back Row: Sarah and Jeff Hogan, Dick and Patt Hogan, Kevin and Carmie Hogan. Front Row: Daniel and Kelley Wyatt, Christin Hogan and Derek Hurley

9) Carole and Bob Brown lll

Photos courtesy of Mary Favre and Lucy Cruz



Fort Bend County Ranchers’ Ball

Over 500 guests dressed in their best “Cowboy Chic” attire attended the 2017 Fort Bend Ranchers’ Ball on Oct. 21 at Safari Texas and enjoyed dinner and dancing to the music of Texas Swing Unlimited. The event raised more than $320,000 making it the most successful Ranchers’ Ball to date. The Ranchers’ Ball is an annual fundraiser benefitting Fort Bend Charities, Inc., a 501(c)(3) charitable entity that provides financial support to various charities working to serve Fort Bend County.


1) Fort Bend County Fair Queen Baylee Jankowski and Commissioner Meyers during the raffle drawing

2) 2017 Ranchers’ Ball Committee members

3) Xavier Herrera and Tim Buscha with State Rep. Rick Miller

4) Commissioner Andy Meyers (on horse) with (from left) 2017 Ranchers’ Ball Committee Chairs Mac McAleer and Barbara Minton, with Synda Frost and Robert Frost

5) Ed and Tricia Krenek, Deputy Doc, Commissioner Andy Meyers, Sheriff Don McCoy, and Kenneth and Cheryl Stalinsky.

Photos courtesy of Randy Kozlovsky

Comments are closed.